Learning to Trust

“God has given me a little that I might learn to trust Him more”

Ronnie McBrayer

favela“God has given me little that I might learn to trust Him more.” Those are the words of Marta Torres. Marta is not a pious, Latina saint from yesteryear. She is an impoverished, middle-aged mother of two from El Salvador. Yet, if holiness is measured by maintaining faith within great difficulty, Marta is indeed a saint. I first met Marta while standing on a street in the city of San Salvador next to her house. To be fair, the street was more of a sidewalk and her home more like the corrugated tin clubhouse I built with my friends when we were children. I learned that she had built her house when she was a child as well – almost 40 years earlier – and she still lived in it.

It was the late 1970s. Marta was a child living on the streets, having been abandoned by her parents in the…

View original post 521 more words

Leave a Reply

